St. Joseph's Catholic Church

Pierz, MN

Parish Secretary Michelle Thomsen

Meet Michelle Thomsen our parish Sectretary
I am honored that the Lord has led me to serve the people of these two parishes and to help the Pastor, Fr. Ken Popp, provide Pastoral care and leadership.  I have been married for 25+ years to my best friend, Mary Kay, and we have three children, Ruth and Beth who are adults and Charles who is with us here in the Pierz school.  Our unofficial family motto has become, “Remember, life is an adventure and that is OK if you remember Who is in control, if you let Him.” Among other things, our adventure has included 20 years of parish ministry, a Masters in Theology, meeting many people longing for closeness to the Lord, seeing great acts of God, and a warm welcome from the parish communities here.

Father Ken Popp

St. Michael's Parish Hall:

St. Joseph's Parish Council:

Parish Staff

  • Harold Meyer, Trustee
  • Joanne Broschofsky, Trustee
  • Rachel Young
  • Galen Stumpf
  • Jenny Sadlovsky
  • John Smude
  • Steven Andres
  • Jim Zimmerman
  • Neal Kimman
  • Jill Kessler
  • Andy Kapsner
  • Kristie Virnig
  • Dan Loscheider
  • Al Pekarek

Pastoral Associate Michael Pekar

St. Michael's Catholic Church

Buckman, MN

I was born to Arthur and Regina Popp in Rice, Mn. I have six living siblings and one brother who has died and gone to heaven. I grew up in Rice and attended Rice Elementary School.  From there I went to Cathedral High School and graduated in 1971.  Following high school I studied for ten years out east with the bulk of the time in Washington D.C.  My studies included philosophy and theology.  I completed my theological studies for the priesthood at St. John's Seminary in Collegeville, MN and was ordained a priest in 1983.  During all my priesthood, I have served in several parishes in the St. Cloud Diocese.  At present I am pastor at St. Joseph in Pierz and St. Michael in Buckman.

St. Joseph's Christian Mothers/Women:

  • Bill Andres, Trustee
  • Roger Janson, Trustee
  • ​Janel Meyer
  • ​Kristi Marshik
  • ​Mick Gruber
  • ​Jessie LeBlanc
  • Brian Stangl
  • Paula Rocheleau
  • ​Reiny Hanneken
  • ​Dennis Herold
  • Jerome Kahl

St. Michael's Parish Council: